Easter greetings


Now here’s the way to spend an Easter Sunday morning. My friend J and her 9-year-old son Jjr (he calls me Tata Wren, which totally charms me) joined me for a nice springtime walk.



We took to the El Dorado Trail, J and myself on foot and Jjr riding his BMX bike, and made our way along the 2-and-a-half-mile, uphill trail to the crossroads. We hung a left and puffed up the long, long, winding steep road to Today’s Goal, a yummy Easter breakfast outside at the Apple Cafe. Near the top, J snapped this photo of me being silly, but you know, a year ago I couldn’t have managed even the walk, let alone the big hill. I feel good in spite of achy hands, and if I’ve a ways to go before I reach my fitness goals, that’s all right. Getting out there is half the battle, and I know I’ll win.


Once sufficiently stuffed with omelets and over-easies, hash browns and the Apple Cafe’s signature biscuits slathered with the best apple butter this side of … oh … the Great Divide, we walked back. Jjr rode circles around us, then zoomed down the hills on his bike; J and I set up a pretty brisk pace and before we knew it, we were back at the parking lot, sweating lightly in the 70-degree noontime and pleasantly worn out. Five miles yesterday, five miles today … five miles tomorrow? Just might do that.

Happy Easter, everyone.

One Response to “Easter greetings”

  1. I shouda done that. Walking around the neighborhood is simple, but I let trivia and busy stuff get in the way. At least a set of sit-ups in the morning is better than nothing.

Leave a Reply

