Haiku Bush


Poet and author Steve Kuusisto and his wife Connie, who write on their blog Planet of the Blind, challenged me and Blue Girl and several other bloggers to write a haiku for President Bush. They invited me to tell George how I really feel.

After I got over wanting to use undignified words that rhyme with “tuck” and “hit” and “crass” and stuff, I came up with this:

Evil rich boy George
Can’t have everything he wants
So he stomps it all.

As you can see, poetry isn’t my strong suit. But haikus are fun and they get the creative juices flowing. So I’m extending Steve and Connie’s challenge to my readers, all three or four of you. Write a haiku for President Bush, telling him how you feel.

And then, go ahead and send a “Haiku Postcard to the President!” c/o

Split This Rock Poetry Festival
The Institute for Policy Studies
1112 16th Street, NW, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20036

The festival, by the way, sounds very cool. I wish I could go. Visit the festival’s website — maybe you can!

2 Responses to “Haiku Bush”

  1. And a fine “dignified” haiku it is!

  2. MichaelBains Says:

    Our fate determined
    by democracy’s blind tools
    this year a new chance

    Meh!

    Hope you and your nestmates are keeping warm. {brrrrrrr}

Leave a comment