Correction

Correction:

In the previous post, I attributed the words “Civil war this, civil war that” to Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld. Not sure now where I saw it quoted, but I seem to have misread.

Maybe because it sounded like such a natural Rumsfeldism (“Stuff happens.”).

But I’m big enough to admit it: I was wrong, wrong, wrong. It wasn’t Rummy who uttered those pearls of offhanded disdain.

It was President George W. Bush.

Gosh. My bad.

In context:

Upon being reminded that an average of 100 civilians a day had been killed in Iraq in July, Bush said on Aug. 7 during a press conference:

“My attitude is that a young democracy has been born quite quickly. And I think the Iraqi government has shown remarkable progress on the political front. And that is that they developed a modern constitution that was ratified by the people and then 12 million people voted for a government.

“Which gives me confidence about the future in Iraq, by the way. You know, I hear people say, Well, civil war this, civil war that. The Iraqi people decided against civil war when they went to the ballot box. And a unity government is working to respond to the will of the people. And, frankly, it’s quite a remarkable achievement on the political front.

“And the security front is where there has been troubles.”

Um, no shit, Sherlock.

I was, frankly, horrified and infuriated to think that one of the President’s lackeys had said such a childish and terrible thing. “Civil war this, civil war that.”

But it was the Bully in Chief himself who said it.

Now I’m more than horrified and infuriated. I’m … speechless.

*Thanks to Think Progress for the full quote.

One Response to “Correction”

  1. Kevin Wolf Says:

    I guess this administration is all of a piece. You could have attributed that quote to any one of them.

Leave a Reply

