Wee griskins


I had the oddest dream the other morning.
In it, there were these things … in the dark …
jabbering … like little creatures …
or people …
making the strangest sounds …
little moans and laughs and sorta chewy noises …
and I couldn’t figure out what they were.
They sounded like little griskins
or goblins… not real pleasant sounds …
but not scary, either …
I opened my eyes … woke up …
and I could still hear them.
And I laid there … just … listening …
trying to figger out what was making those sounds.
I didn’t really want to look …
It was a sort of dreadful, yet fascinated feeling.
Well … they just went on …
little rooooowwers and bokokwrrrowssss
and so loud in the early morning quiet.
Finally, I had to look….
So I did …
and there was nothing.
But the sounds kept on …
so I tried to figure out where they were coming from …
and I saw the dog, laying on his bed …
He wasn’t concerned about the sounds.
In fact, he was sleeping so peacefully I was jealous.
And then I realized.
It was his stomach!

Leave a Reply

